Clean My Mac 3

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 9.49.50 amSome time ago we reviewed Clean My Mac 2ย by MacPaw and rather liked it. Recently MacPaw released Clean My Mac 3 which looks fairly similar to the previous version but comes packed with additional cleaning options as well as the old faithfuls.

Installation follows the standard OSX installation, as shown to the left. It’s very easy – drag and drop the icon into the Applications folder and that’s it – Clean My Mac 3 is now installed. Simply open up Finder, choose Applications and double click on the Clean My Mac 3 icon to start the cleaning process.

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 8.51.16 amThe app starts up with a fancy new video which is a little superfluous but does add to the overall polish of the application. Then, you’re presented with the familiar looking screen from which everything is managed. Click the round Scan button at the bottom and wait a little while for CleanMyMac3 to scan your system and see what it can find. This might take a little while, depending on how fast your Mac is and how much disk space you have used. The new CleanMyMac scans for what it calls ‘System Junk’ which includes extraneous localizations, unused language files, old logs, old cache files and broken application data amongst other things.

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 8.57.39 amOld and Large Files scanned by CleanMyMac3I generally think that I run a fairly tidy ship on my Mac. CleanMyMac would dispute that notion quite strenuously it would appear. The System Junk scan alone found 4.7 Gigabytes of cruft, and on closer inspection I’m pretty certain that over 3 Gigs of it can quite happily be discarded. That, in itself, would be enough – indeed that pretty much was enough with Clean My Mac 2. But this new version goes even further – scanning and finding superfluous files in your iPhoto library (which sadly doesn’t appear to include duplicate files – or at least doesn’t appear to scan the iCloud shared photos, since I know that ALL my photos are duplicated, which is highly annoying). CleanMyMac 3 then scans for extra iTunes data and unused files, old and out of date Mail Attachments and perhaps best of all, Large and Old Files. In my case it found 26 Gigabytes of large and old files – most of which I had little idea were there. 26 Gigabytes of junk on a 250GB SSD drive is a little over 10% of the drive! Add in the 12 or so Gigabytes of other junk floating around the Mac and I discover that in fact, rather than the tidy ship I thought I had, I’m wasting somewhere close to 15% of my disk in rubbish that can be removed.

But the new version of CleanMyMac goes a few steps further than just cleaning up files. It also allows cleaning up of installed applications, so that essentially you can reset an application to factory defaults – or, how it was when you first installed it – by using the Uninstaller functionality. The uninstaller properly uninstalls applications whereas often the standard Mac uninstallation routine of dragging to the trash can leave lots of properties files laying around, CleanMyMac will get rid of those too.

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 9.03.36 amThe Maintenance screen looks quite interesting too, since it re-indexes Mail databases – and I’ve found Apple Mail to be quite slow of late and still quite buggy when it comes to Google Mail – I’m not sure whether this will fix it, but it looks like a good start. The Maintenance screens have a whole slew of other useful maintenance tasks – all of which can be done through the command line of course, but who wants to use the command line when there’s an app for it! If you don’t leave your Mac on 24/7 you’re not benefitting from a number of system cleanup routines that would run automatically. CleanMyMac3 offers the ability to run these maintenance scripts with a single click. There’s a bunch of other system maintenance items that can be done from here such as rebuilding the Spotlight index if it’s gone a bit wacky, verifying and repairing the disk(s) in your system and ‘Rebuilding Launch Services’.

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 9.05.17 amFinally, for this review – although there is a LOT more to CleanMyMac3 than we have room for in this review so we strongly suggest you check out the full list of features at http://macpaw.com/cleanmymac – we’ll look at the Extensions tab. Many applications in OSX can have extensions added to them, and if you’ve installed another application that provides an extension to a core OSX application, you may not even be aware that extensions have been installed. Some of these 3rd party extensions can cause slowdowns and instability and you may not even be aware of what’s causing it. For example, when I looked at the extensions listed for the Contacts app I saw that Adium had installed extensions. I haven’t used Adium for ages (though it’s still a great app) but the extensions were still there. So I removed them. There’s a whole bunch of LaunchAgents that are now obsolete on my Mac – mostly related to the Motorola Moto G Android phone that I had until recently (when I went back to an iPhone – phew!)

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 11.02.03 amAlmost finally…. I just discovered another rather neat little feature of this version of CleanMyMac – the picture to the left tells the story ๐Ÿ™‚ Clicking on the icon in the taskbar at the top brings up a nifty menu such as this.

In summary, my Mac is a fairly recent (well, by Mac standards – it’s probably a couple of years now) fresh install which I thought I looked after well. As it turns out, I have an extraordinary amount of extraneous rubbish laying around on my computer and some of it is taking up space, while other stuff could well be affecting the stability and even the speed of my mac. I highly recommend CleanMyMac3, it’s a step ahead of the previous version and worth the upgrade.

Further Information

For further information on CleanMyMac3 and other MacPaw products, please visit http://macpaw.com/cleanmymac.

Check the details of all the new features atย http://macpaw.com/support/cleanmymac/knowledgebase/whats-new-in-cleanmymac-3

If you have experience with CleanMyMac and would like to share it – or any other comments, you can rate the app yourself using the stars below and of course leave a comment below

 

6 Comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *